NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Quick question about chatting with NetTalk...  (Read 6880 times)

DonRidley

  • Don Ridley
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • donaldridley2011@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Email
Quick question about chatting with NetTalk...
« on: March 18, 2009, 03:05:47 PM »
Okay, y'all get ready....

I've been playing around with chat using NetTalk mainly as a way to learn how NetTalk works.   On my home network it work great.  Had it going within 30 mintues of purchasing NetTalk.   But I tried it through the internet outside of my network and I've had mixed results.   

Let me explain the hardware I'm using first.   Laptop computers accessing the internet through Verizon wireless broadband internat cards.   Windows XP Pro on each.    I set up a DIP server on a computer at home.   When the laptops were connected together with Hamachi (fancy VPN really) the chat worked fine.   When off of Hamachi and accessing my DIP server at home its a different story.   Usually I can see the other laptops on the "chatters" list but I can't send or receive the chat messages.  Also the DIP server at home can "see" them as well.  Its as if something is not allowing the messages to get through.

Good question huh?

Also, on a side note, how can I change "rooms" on the fly?  Say if some chatters needed to go to another room at will?

Thank you ahaed of time!

Don
"Eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however unlikely, must be the truth."

NetTalk 12.41
Clarion 11

Mike Grigsby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - onthedotsoftware
    • View Profile
    • MyHomeAssets! Software (among others)
Re: Quick question about chatting with NetTalk...
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 10:09:51 PM »
Do you think your internet provider at home is blocking the port? And of course your firewall allows that port to be used?
Mike Grigsby
Credify Systems
Central Oregon, USA

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10700
    • View Profile
Re: Quick question about chatting with NetTalk...
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2009, 11:26:13 PM »
Hi Don,

NetChat is based on NetAuto.
NetAuto is designed for LANs not WANs.
So NetTauto classes (specifically NetChat) won't work on the internet.

For internet (WAN) apps you should use classes based on NetSimple.

Cheers
Bruce

DonRidley

  • Don Ridley
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • donaldridley2011@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Quick question about chatting with NetTalk...
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2009, 04:11:22 AM »
Thank you Bruce and Mike.   Yeah my firewall at home is setup correctly.   

I was afraid you would say that Bruce.   Definitely a learning experience.

Don
"Eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however unlikely, must be the truth."

NetTalk 12.41
Clarion 11