NetTalk Central

Author Topic: GPF Errors  (Read 6607 times)

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
GPF Errors
« on: April 22, 2012, 04:16:13 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I am converting our win32 app reports into WebServer and am receiving GPF errors only on certain builds when nothing has changed. The process is:

1. Select drill-down data on a NetWebForm.
2. User presses Save button which does validation of the Form.
3. The validation calls a Window(ABC) procedure to do a count to see if there are records to report on (if there are none then validation fails).
4. If the count returns records then user is taken to another NetWebForm which has a Print(Other) button.
4. User presses Print button and Report(ABC) procedure is called.

The GPF error happens at step 3. I have a debug (trace) statement just before the call to the Window(ABC) procedure to do the count and debug statement in the Init > Enter Procedure Scope embed of the Window(ABC) procedure. On the builds that I get the GPF I see the debug before the count procedure starts and then the GPF occurs.

To fix this I open any embed on the Window(ABC) procedure, click save and close without changing any code at all, then re-build WebServer and the GPF does not occur. On the next build, if I do not do this, then the GPF error occurs again.

Anyone know why this is happening?

Regards,
Trent

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 04:54:16 PM »
seems a bit odd - what clarion version are you on? As a workaround can you move your validation to a source procedure?

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2012, 06:00:11 PM »
Hi Kevin,

Clarion version 8.0.0.8973. I can't really change the procedure to a NetWebSource as the procedure uses a template built by our win32 developer that isn't compatible with NetTalk (the embeds for the template do not appear when I add the template to the procedure).

No issues when running the same procedure in win32 app.

Regards,
Trent

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2012, 08:54:24 PM »
Is the procedure in the same app as your web server stuff? Just curious...

cheers
Bruce

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2012, 09:15:29 PM »
Hi Bruce,

Yes the procedure is in my web app, imported from a 'cleaned up' exported txa file from the win32 app. This is a single exe web app.

The extra template in the Window(ABC) procedure is just a template to create and perform an SQL Select statement, or close the window if there are no records. This selects all the records for the report and puts the records into a TPS file (keyed on SessionID of course) ready for the Report procedure to use.

I have taken all items out of this procedure like 'message()' etc that are not needed.

I guess I could re-write the procedure and put in into a NetWebSource procedure, just hoping I would not have to as this is already written and proven to work.

Regards,
Trent

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2012, 09:22:43 PM »
You want the code in a souce (windows) procedure not netwebsource but not sure if the template would work there either. Sounds like you could just copy the template generated code to your validation embed on your netwebform.

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2012, 09:57:45 PM »
OK I will try put it into a source procedure and will let you know how it goes!

Regards,
Trent

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2012, 06:43:38 PM »
Hi Kevin,

I have change the procedure to a Source procedure but still get the same results - PGF errors on some builds and not others. GPF is attached.

Regards,
Trent


[attachment deleted by admin]

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2012, 09:17:55 PM »
what does line 9047 of klws021.clw say?

cheers
Bruce

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2012, 09:40:56 PM »
Hi Bruce,

A few lines before and after...

9043  ! End of "Validate Value"
9044    If not ((p_web.GSV('LOC:PointsBookedFrom') = 0 or p_web.GSV('LOC:Report') > 5))
9045      if loc:invalid = '' then p_web.SetSessionValue('LOC:PointID',LOC:PointID).
9046    End
9047  ! Start of "Validate Value"
9048  ! [Priority 5000]
9049 
9050  ! End of "Validate Value"

Regards,
Trent

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2012, 09:48:15 PM »
can you post the source file?

trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2012, 09:56:10 PM »
Hi Bruce,

klws021.clw - Form with Validation that calls the procedure.
klws061.clw - Called procedure.

Thanks for checking this,
Trent

[attachment deleted by admin]

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2012, 11:25:46 PM »
Hi Trent,

what Debug message do you get before the GPF?


trent

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2012, 11:32:24 PM »
Hi Kevin,

Lets say I'm printing LOC:Report = 1. The last debug message before the GPF is: Do Count for LOC:Report 1

This is in klws021.clw.

Regards,
Trent

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: GPF Errors
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2012, 11:36:31 PM »
Your GPF seems to be here ...

ComIniter cCOMIniter    ! COM Subsystem   !RED_ADO

That makes sense your last debug message.