NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Webcam broken in 14.03??  (Read 1628 times)

rjolda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
    • Email
Webcam broken in 14.03??
« on: September 02, 2023, 04:52:44 AM »
Hi,
NT 14.03
Clarion 11.0.13606.
I found that the webcam was not showing an image for me to take a picture.  I am using a USB camera.  The camera light comes on and the App indicates that it is using the camera - but NO DISPLAY from the webcam.  This was working.
I went to web79 example ( Webcam) and compiled and ran that .  Same behavior.  This is in development on my machine so using port 88.
Is it my equipment or is this something that got disrupted in NT 14.03?
TIA,
Ron

Alberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
    • MSN Messenger - alberto-michelis@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • ARMi software solutions
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2023, 05:31:36 AM »
Hi, you need a secure server for this to work.
Regards
-----------
Regards
Alberto

rjolda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2023, 08:00:25 AM »
Hi Alberto,
I know that I need a secure server to do this on the Internet.  However, on my local development machine it was working with localhost:88.  Now, it is not working on my development machine.  That is why I ask the question.
Thanks,
Ron

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11193
    • View Profile
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2023, 11:39:28 PM »
Hi Ron,

I'm working in 14.04 at the moment (which isn't released yet) and the camera seems to be ok. But I've been adding features to it, so I can't say for sure it was working in 14.03. I should get 14.04 out soon though so try with that.

It should work on http://127.0.0.1:88 - but I'm not 100% sure about localhost. I think localhost should work, but try 127.0.0.1 as a test.

Also, click on the icon to the left of the url in your browser to see the permissions. Sounds like your permissions is ok, but check there to be sure.

Also check the browser console to see if you are getting any errors.

Cheers
Bruce


rjolda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2023, 02:47:25 AM »
Hi Bruce,
I tried example 79 Webcam.  No webcam display - either in Localhost:88 or 127.0.0.1:88
I get an unchecked runtimeLast.Error : The message port closed before a response was received.    MailboxesFormControl:1
That is what I am finding.
Ron

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11193
    • View Profile
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2023, 01:17:51 AM »
are there any errors reported in the browser console?

rjolda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2023, 02:22:43 PM »
Hi Bruce.
Console error:
I get an unchecked runtimeLast.Error : The message port closed before a response was received.    MailboxesFormControl:1
Ron

osquiabro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2023, 03:44:30 AM »
work perfect in 14.04 with localhost:88

rjolda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2023, 06:54:31 AM »
Yes,
Works fine with 14.04 on localhost:88.
THANKS BRUCE!

osquiabro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2024, 12:23:17 PM »
with 14.16 when connect with any device via ip address don't work cam example address 192.168.0.217:90, and no error in screen, is imposible to see console error in android mobile

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11193
    • View Profile
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2024, 11:57:19 PM »
I feel like this thread is on a loop;

>> Hi, you need a secure server for this to work.

Cheers
Bruce


osquiabro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2024, 03:54:20 AM »
but why work at localhost without SSL?

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11193
    • View Profile
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2024, 10:45:50 PM »
Hi Osa,

Because localhost is considered a "secure origin" as the traffic does not flow over the network. Lots of the API's which require HTTPS carve out an exception for local-host because it's "the same machine".

Cheers
Bruce
« Last Edit: March 24, 2024, 10:48:23 PM by Bruce »

osquiabro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webcam broken in 14.03??
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2024, 03:20:43 AM »
thanks for information