NetTalk Central

Author Topic: When does CallClicked routine get called?  (Read 2702 times)

Mike Grigsby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - onthedotsoftware
    • View Profile
    • MyHomeAssets! Software (among others)
When does CallClicked routine get called?
« on: July 23, 2008, 08:24:44 PM »
I think this is different than the previous problem in this forum. I've got two basic file browses on two different files.

On the one that's working okay, I've got this code in the CallClicked routine:

  Message('Row UID=' & USE:ID & ', id=' & p_web.GetValue('id') & ', value=' & p_web.GetValue('value'))

On the one that's not working, it's virtually identical:

  Message('Row UID=' & REQ:ID & ', id=' & p_web.GetValue('id') & ', value=' & p_web.GetValue('value'))

The first one displays a popup message when I click on a row, but the second one does nothing but highlight that row, preventing me from grabbing some file data before I go to the form.

My question is: what causes the CallClicked routine to be called, and why wouldn't it work on any browse?




« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 08:32:03 PM by Mike Grigsby »
Mike Grigsby
Credify Systems
Central Oregon, USA

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: When does CallClicked routine get called?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2008, 04:22:20 AM »
Hi Mike,

If the browse is on a form, then the click is (currently) likely to be swallowed by the form (ie in the Validate::<whatever> routine in the form) rather than be passed onto the browse.

Cheers
Bruce

Mike Grigsby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - onthedotsoftware
    • View Profile
    • MyHomeAssets! Software (among others)
Re: When does CallClicked routine get called?
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 06:25:52 PM »
Of course, you were right Bruce. One was in a search form. Can you think of any other way of capturing the click or row?
Mike Grigsby
Credify Systems
Central Oregon, USA

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: When does CallClicked routine get called?
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2008, 10:38:55 PM »
Hi Mike,

when on a form, the click _is_ bing trapped - but it's going to the Form embed rather than the browse. I am working on a mechanism though to pass it through the form, and on to the browse in that situation.

For now though, you can "see" the click in the form procedure.

Cheers
Bruce