NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms  (Read 3977 times)

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« on: March 19, 2011, 08:15:13 AM »
Hi Gordon and others,

I can't find the thread which introduced this idea, but suffice to say that the next build (5.19) has the ability to popup a form from an "other" button, which is on a form or on a browse row.

Cheers
Bruce

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 07:30:07 PM »
Yeaaaaaaaaah!

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2011, 02:18:00 AM »
I've also added support for popups to menu items and menus (where menus allow direct links.)

Cheers
Bruce

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2011, 06:02:28 PM »
I have 1 browse that has hyperlinks in columns which call a web page with parameters. I was hoping to convert that to a popup. Do you support popups via hyperlinks?

Cheers,

Kev

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2011, 09:10:42 PM »
Not yet...

Gordon Holfelder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2011, 07:44:20 AM »
Thanks Bruce!

spot1701

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2011, 03:21:39 AM »

Nettalk 5.20

Unless I misunderstand, it doesn't work if you add a button to a form and get it to open another "memory" form.
If you set the button on form 1 to "Open as popup (not submit)", then when form 2 opens, the save button won't work. Click it and nothing happens. Clicking 'cancel' returns you to form 1.

Uncheck ""Open as popup (not submit)" and form 2 behaves correctly.

Thanks
Bryan
Thanks

Bryan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2011, 11:23:47 PM »
I'll check it out to see if I can duplicate it.

cheers
Bruce

spot1701

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2011, 03:51:59 AM »
I'll check it out to see if I can duplicate it.

cheers
Bruce


FYI:
In the code for the popup form Nettalk creates the save button like this:

     
      if loc:popup
        loc:javascript = clip(loc:javascript) & 'ntd.save();'
        packet = clip(packet) & p_web.CreateStdButton('button',Net:Web:SaveButton,loc:formname,,,loc:javascript)
      else
        packet = clip(packet) & p_web.CreateStdButton('submit',Net:Web:SaveButton,loc:formname,loc:formaction,loc:formactiontarget,loc:javascript)
      end


If it's a popup from a memory form you call the first line "p_web.CreateStdButton('button...". This save button is the one that doesn't work.i.e. it doesn't close the popup form.

I have manually add the second option into the code "p_web.CreateStdButton('submit...". The save button that is created works correctly (or at least seems to:) and closes the memory form.
Thanks

Bryan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
    • View Profile
Re: Popups from "Other" buttons on Browses and Forms
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2011, 05:40:33 AM »
the save button on a popup form should definitely be a 'button' not a 'submit'.
But I'm about to release 5.21, so try in that and see if you have any better luck.