NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Force refresh after popup  (Read 4664 times)

Gordon Holfelder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Email
Force refresh after popup
« on: January 13, 2011, 09:25:05 PM »
Hi There-

I think this is my last issue (for a while). I have a browse going to a memory popup form. Pressing the insert causes a new entry to be added to the table (though it is a memory form). Upon return the browse is not refreshed.

Change and delete buttons work fine.

Do I need to force a refresh (and how would I do it), or are the templates supposed to take card of this?

Thanks,
Gordon
C73 / 5.11

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11244
    • View Profile
Re: Force refresh after popup
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2011, 02:47:45 AM »
the templates should (and use to) take care of this - I'll check into it.

cheers
Bruce

Gordon Holfelder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Force refresh after popup
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 04:28:24 PM »
Hello Bruce-

Just rechecked this with build 5.15 and it is still a problem. This is a file browse going to a memory popup form that then creates a record. Upon return, the browse does not refresh. Is there a way to force a refresh? Should this happen automatically?

Thanks in advance.
Gordon

Gordon Holfelder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Force refresh after popup
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 06:37:00 PM »
One other note. It appears that the PreInsert routine is never called. Is this the reason? If so, is there a way to force this to happen? Why is the code generated if it's not to be used.

Thanks again.
Gordon

kevin plummer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1195
    • View Profile
    • Production Accounting and Software Payroll
Re: Force refresh after popup
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2011, 05:41:10 PM »
Pre-Insert Never gets called on a Memory form.

Auto Browse refresh seems to work fine inserting new records into a popup lookup.

I have a popup which is not a lookup (mem form) which is similar to what I think you have. I have just upgraded from a PR version to 5.15 I could not work out on the PR version how to refresh the browse after returning from my popup mem form but I used the technique below and added this code to the validate embed on my mem form and it worked. There may be a better easier way to do on the current version.


      p_web.setValue('_ParentProc','')       !added to auto refresh the browse
      p_web.DeleteValue('_EIPClm' )
      MyBrowse(p_web)

Gordon Holfelder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Force refresh after popup
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2011, 01:39:31 PM »
Kevin-

First: Thanks, Thanks, Thanks. This was holding up the release of this application. It was awkward telling the user they had to do a Ctrl-F5 after every insert.

How did you ever figure that one out?

On the other side, if memory forms will never do a PreInsert (I do understand why), then why generate the code. It just makes it hard when looking at the generated code to figure out what's happening.

Thanks again! This is definitely one to save in the notes.
Gordon