NetTalk Central

Author Topic: NetWebForms - I think I'm missing something fundamental here  (Read 2228 times)

Neil Porter

• View Profile
    • Email
NetWebForms - I think I'm missing something fundamental here
« on: October 27, 2008, 06:34:34 AM »
I'm very new to NetTalk Web Server, so I apologise in advance if what I'm asking here is really dumb.

I have a scenario, where an end user will log into a NetTalk Web site, to book "jobs". To give this end user an estimated cost of this job prior to them submitting the job, I have added a GetPrice button to my NetWebForm with some embedded code attached to it, that I use in a standard clarion application elsewhere. (see attachment 1.jpg)

From looking at the documentation, and other posts on this forum, I thought that I would have to reference session variables in calculation code rather than the fields from my table, as I would do in a standard clarion form.

I’ve looked at a number of the example applications, but focussed on the Calculator mostly, as this seems similar in logic. (see attachment 2.jpg & 3.jpg for my embed code)

My problem is that my session variables don’t appear to be set when I call my calculation routine, unless I have used an unrelated lookup button elsewhere on my form. If I use this lookup, my session variables are populated with the variables that have been entered by the end user.

There is obviously a missing step somewhere in my logic, can anyone point me in the correct direction please.

TIA,

Neil Porter.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Clarion 11.0.13244
NetTalk 11.04

Bruce

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: NetWebForms - I think I'm missing something fundamental here
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 06:45:47 AM »
Hi Neil,

You're on the right track.
First a direct answer to your question, then perhaps a suggestion.