NetTalk Central

Author Topic: How to span fields in a form  (Read 3078 times)

Alberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1846
    • MSN Messenger - alberto-michelis@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • ARMi software solutions
    • Email
How to span fields in a form
« on: January 30, 2009, 06:01:22 AM »
I need to see something like:

NAME:        ________________________________________________________ TITLE:____
CITY:          _________________________      ZIP: ______________
ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________________

How can I do it?
Thanks
-----------
Regards
Alberto

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11183
    • View Profile
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 06:44:56 AM »
click on
http://www.nettalkcentral.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=36&topic=743.0

and it'll be right on your monitor...

so what are you really asking? As in, what part of this can't you do?

Cheers
Bruce

Poul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 07:03:26 AM »
i would think of your example as
Col1  (name),   Col2 (title, LAST ON LINE)
Col1 (city,SPAN and zip, SPAN, LAST ON LINE) - no col2
Col1(Address, LAST ON LINE)   , though you might want to span both cols as one, so the address continues under the title.

NOTE:
The only problem is some times you want some space between things like Prompt and field in (in city above), with some trepidation i have tried and it works, inserting ALL(' ',5)  <- note that is not a space but a val(160), will insert 5 "spaces", repeating spaces will end up being 1 space on your browser, and I had trouble with &nbsp, this has worked for me.

Alberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1846
    • MSN Messenger - alberto-michelis@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • ARMi software solutions
    • Email
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2009, 07:08:27 AM »
I cant make a row with a big (80 chars) field and the following row with two (20 chars) fields, it appears like

NAME: _________________________________________
CITY:   _______                                                               ZIP:____

and I want:

NAME: _________________________________________
CITY:   _______      ZIP:____

-----------
Regards
Alberto

bshields

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
    • View Profile
    • Inhabit
    • Email
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2009, 02:03:14 AM »
Hi Michelis,

If you use Firebug to diagnose you'll see that city and zip are in different <TD> or columns.

In this case you just need to tell Nettalk to turn off "last on line" and "last in cell", for the field preceeding the one you want adjacent (ie. city). The "cell" corresponds to to <TD>.

Regards
Bill

Alberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1846
    • MSN Messenger - alberto-michelis@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • ARMi software solutions
    • Email
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2009, 02:14:10 AM »
Hi Bill,

The problem is that I need to maintain City and Zip in different columns ans span Name between that columns, like this:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
name _______________________________________________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
city _____________________    |   zip: ___________________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying to use a Display field as a dummy field above Zip and span Name and dummy, but I dont know how.
Any idea?
Thanks
Alberto
-----------
Regards
Alberto

Poul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
Re: How to span fields in a form
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2009, 10:12:46 AM »
Quote
The problem is that I need to maintain City and Zip in different columns ans span Name between that columns


Understood, but i think it is easier to have one long column containing name then place city and zip on the second row (spanning both cells) with zip - last on line/cell.
(effectivly in the same column)

if city and zip are in separate columns, how big should the cell be that name is IN? You will struggle with zip being stuffed in column2 (further right than you intend) and attempts to span Name will still leave column2 following column1.

make sense? Not sure the dummy field helps as you have described. if there is another way, i'd like to know...