NetTalk Central

Author Topic: NetWebClient._CallPageReceived - Am I causing this problem?  (Read 14743 times)

GFasolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • GFasolt.com
    • Email
NetWebClient._CallPageReceived - Am I causing this problem?
« on: February 05, 2009, 08:30:04 AM »
Using NetWebClient to get a small file file from a server (http://proentry4.com/web/PROENTRY4.wud). This is causing consistent crashes, which have led me to NetXxx.clw.

In NetWebClient._CallPageReceived:
loc:tempLen = Len(Clip(self._LastURLRequested))
where loc:tempLen is set to 0

Next
if self._LastURLRequested[loc:tempLen] = '/'...

Obviously 0 is a problem here.

What might I be doing wrong to cause this?

Generated source file attached
CW 6.3.9056 ABC
NetTalk 4.32.12

[attachment deleted by admin]

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: NetWebClient._CallPageReceived - Am I causing this problem?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2009, 03:14:31 AM »
Hi Greg,

First off - your server is case sensitive. The file you're fetching is
www.proentry4.com/Web/PROENTRY4.wud
not
www.proentry4.com/web/PROENTRY4.wud

Second the error. It's a little bizarre because the property self._LastURLRequested does not appear to actually be _set_ anywhere, and so the code in that routine is clearly a bug - or there's a bug somewhere, I'm not sure yet.

But most of all that code only runs if ServerResponse > 300 <= 399. Which it doesn't seem to be. Your server returns 200. 

So all in all it's a very inconsistent report.

Use the netdemo program (netweb client procedure) and see what happens from there.

Cheers
Bruce

GFasolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • GFasolt.com
    • Email
Re: NetWebClient._CallPageReceived - Am I causing this problem?
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 11:49:52 AM »
Hi Bruce,

Thanks for your reply.

The case was correct in my code, soory about the link.

The error was definitely in the 300 range.

I tested with the demo and no problems. Upon returning to my app - as of my most recent testing with no changes in the area involved - there is no error at all.

I have no explanation so I'll just keep my eyes open.

Greg