NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Hosting A Nettalk app / SSL  (Read 8333 times)

ianburgess

• View Profile
    • Email
Hosting A Nettalk app / SSL
« on: June 26, 2012, 04:59:23 AM »
I am looking to be able to have several Nettalk webserver apps hosted on a 3rd party virtual server. Also, I need to have a SSL certificate so that users can access using SSL without any security messages. Can anyone make any suggestions re companies that they have used and whether it is possible to use a "shared" SSL certificate or one must go down the road of applying for a certificate for each domain name used?

Is it just a matter of applying and getting a SSL certificate and dropping the files into the relevant subfolder? Does the host provider need to get involved/understand that I will be doing this? Where is the cheapest/best place to get SSL certificate?

Please excuse the perhaps silly questions  - I am very new to web apps etc!

bshields

• View Profile
    • Inhabit
    • Email
Re: Hosting A Nettalk app / SSL
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2012, 05:22:16 AM »
Hi,

You can get an SSL certificate for unlimited subdomains (eg. *.mydomain.com). If you cannot use sub domains you can buy certificate packages that allow say 5 domains for a given fee). I have one from godaddy for subdomains and its $US200 a year, and it wasn't a drama. I chose a "standard SSL" certificate because we dont do ecommernce on those domains. Within a few hours i was send an email with detail on how to log into their system to manage my certificates.

I then just renamed and placed the certificate files (supplied by their online system) in the right folder plus added the necessary DLLs for nettalk to support SSL.

Regards
Bill

Robert Iliuta

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2012, 05:47:39 AM »
Hallo Ian,

I use SSL certificate from GlobeSSL. I use the standard one and it works good. Depends on your needs but this one is very cheap.

https://www.globessl.com/Globe-Standard-SSL.html

Good luck!