NetTalk Central

Author Topic: How to debug multihost GPF  (Read 2124 times)

Ubaidullah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
How to debug multihost GPF
« on: February 09, 2021, 09:49:18 PM »
Hi,

I am running multihost with two sites loaded. Both show up as active and initialize correctly.

When I access site1, it works correctly.

When I access site2, host.exe throws an access violation error. How do I go about figuring out the cause of the error?

Site2 runs without GPF when running standalone as an exe.

Thanks
&
Regards,
Ubaidullah Nubar.

Ubaidullah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: How to debug multihost GPF
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 12:32:06 AM »
SOLVED.

Turned out that I had not set the name for WebHandler for Site2.

Details:
I did some further digging into it with trace calls.

After the hostname is resolved, the code executes up to this point:

RESUME(START (_wsHandler, 35000, loc:OverString))

in the host WebServer proc.

But WebHandler of the app for Site2 never gets called.

This led to examining WebHandler and the resolution.

Hope this helps anyone else running into this issue.

Vinnie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to debug multihost GPF
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 12:35:17 AM »
Note sure I can answer How to debug but a few things to check.

1. Make sure both sites and host exe are compiled using the sames versions of Nettalk.

2. Site dlls and host exe are in the same location. Folder, Directory on your disk.
 
3. Make sure both sites WebServer  - Prototype is set - (<NetWebServer pServer>),name('WebServer')

4. Make sure both sites WebHandler - Prototype is set - (String p_String),name('WebHandler')

Hope this helps.

osquiabro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Email

Ubaidullah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: How to debug multihost GPF
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2021, 05:45:27 AM »
Thanks for the input guys.

I solved the problem. The issue was WebHandler name was not set.

Now, it's working ok.

Thanks
&
Regards,
Ubaidullah Nubar.

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: How to debug multihost GPF
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2021, 11:13:01 PM »
note that the Multi-Host screen itself contains tips as to the most common cause of a GPF in a DLL.

Cheers
Bruce