NetTalk Central

NetTalk Web Server => Web Server - Ask For Help => Topic started by: ccordes on November 04, 2008, 02:59:29 PM

Title: 4.31 String in Browse causes bad routines
Post by: ccordes on November 04, 2008, 02:59:29 PM
Hi
I am just moving to 4.31 because of some newly weird behavior in 4.30.
I had in 4.30 a browse that has some strings without fields - just display. These are generating empty-named routines. Like this -
value::   Routine

Do I have to have a field associated with every column in a browse now?

Chris
Title: Re: 4.31 String in Browse causes bad routines
Post by: Bruce on November 04, 2008, 10:58:53 PM
Hi Chris,

No, not a field. A unique equate.
Because of EIP being added to the browses it's important that each column has a unique equate.

In your case below you have column(s) (probably buttons) that have no equate.

Cheers
Bruce
Title: Re: 4.31 String in Browse causes bad routines
Post by: Bruce on November 04, 2008, 11:00:51 PM
Hi Chris,

Incidentally, this is not the only change that might affect your app.
Check out the version history notes - there are 5 things that have changed sufficiently to need documentation - which sounds like a lot, but isn't really <g>...

Cheers
Bruce
Title: Re: 4.31 String in Browse causes bad routines
Post by: ccordes on November 05, 2008, 07:15:16 AM
Thanks Bruce,
That did it. I thought I tried that but I guess not.

A couple of things got me - Headers with HTML - thanx for the check box
p_web.gsv(something )  in the title. Used self.gsv and set the session variable in the procedure setup. A little ugly.

BIG - moving the browse record stuff into a routine killed my hijacking of the process loop. Ack!
In several reports, I use the template report process to collect data and fill a queue. Then I finish the loop by processing the queue and letting the the template generate all the web stuff. Works great but moving the code put my break statement inside the routine. - wha-wah.
An embed just after the Do BrowseRow might help.

In this same area, I have a report that calls another process that fills in  the <TD> with another table of data. Pretty neat. BUT the div tags (I think) are causing extra line breaks. I'm still investigating.

All that being said, so far it is a worth while upgrade. I was able to add my template changes for the Suckerfish menus without incident.
And since you added the HTML checkbox for headers and such, I didn't need to fiddle with any of that. :)

Probably should of put all that in a separate post.

Thanks,
chris
Title: Re: 4.31 String in Browse causes bad routines
Post by: Bruce on November 07, 2008, 06:56:42 AM
Hi Chris,

>> A couple of things got me - Headers with HTML - thanx for the check box
p_web.gsv(something )  in the title. Used self.gsv and set the session variable in the procedure setup. A little ugly.

If you rename the object in the WebHandler procedure to "p_web" then the Session values are visible from there.
Alternatively set the Page Title to anything you like. (It was blank before, so set it to '' if you prefer).

>> An embed just after the Do BrowseRow might help.

added.

Cheers
Bruce