NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Script-Error in IE 11  (Read 4091 times)

Wolfgang Orth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • oData Wolfgang Orth
Script-Error in IE 11
« on: October 19, 2017, 06:56:09 AM »
Hello Bruce,

in my program I use the FileExplorer to display an HTML-page. Each time this windows gets opened, I get a message "Script-Error", pointing to

../scripts/all.js?c=1

Line 299

Character 125

Error: "Bezeichner, Zeichenfolge oder Zahl erwartet" => Zeichenfoge is a string, Zahl is a number, no idea what Bezeichner might be. Perhaps a variable?

In the Internet Explorer 11 I have these settings for script-errors turned off. Nonetheless my program always shows that message. I went through all pages Google has found for me, which promised a solution. All said the same, none worked!

I looked int this all.js and found this:

Code: [Select]
eval(function(p,a,c,k,e,r){e=function(c){return(c<a?'':e(parseInt(c/a)))+((c=c%a)>35?String.fromCharCode(c+29):c.toString(36))};
What makes me wonder is that there is no closing bracket for eval( before the ; semicolon. I tried to set one there, but it did not solve it. However I am not sure, if this is a matter of teh cache, or the all.js.gz still being not altered, because this is way over my head.

I am sure that this display of an HTML-document worked okay in the past. But I do not call this procedure everyday, so I can't tell, since when it has change. If it did. But for now I claim, it once worked okay.

Maybe that eval( thingie is the culprit?

tia
Wolfgang

PS: I am on Nettalk 9.30
« Last Edit: October 20, 2017, 01:51:11 AM by Wolfgang Orth »

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 10:01:57 PM »
See File Explorer FAQ, 2.17 and 2.18

Wolfgang Orth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • oData Wolfgang Orth
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2017, 12:59:33 AM »
Hello bruce,

I already tried the suggestions in File Explorers FAQ, 2.17 and 2.18, with no luck!

My generated HTML-source also has a meta-Tag for the compatibility mode, too.

What I also did before was turning OFF the script-error notification in the Advanced Settings of the Internet Explorer. That helps to keep the IE quiet, when displaying the page. But the FE-object seems not to care, it keeps complaining!

What abut the missing closing bracket of this eval-function? Seems to be the root cause to me.

Or is this closing bracket coming later, that semicolon and the following lines are part of the eval()?

Do I need that script at all? Can i somehow exclude it?

tia
Wolfgang

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2017, 12:07:08 AM »
debugging all.js is not helpful because it is a minified, combined, version of all the js files.
To debug the JS;
Go to the web server procedure, performance tab, click on the debug button.
Then redo your test, and report the error as it appears in the console then.
That way the real source of the error is exposed.

cheers
Bruce

Wolfgang Orth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • oData Wolfgang Orth
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2017, 08:14:55 AM »
Hello Bruce,

I set "Debug" in the Webserver according to your suggestion, now the error points to

http://192.168.178.113:22000/scripts/redactor.min.js

Line 16

Character 1

"Bezeichner, Zeichenfolge oder Zahl erwartet", which means
"Bezeichner, String or Number expected"

I have no idea what a Bezeichner might be.

And again it seems to point to

eval(function(p,a,c,k,e,r){e=function(c){return(c<a?'':e(parseInt(c/a)))+((c=c%a)>35?String.fromCharCode(c+29):c.toString(36))};

Code: [Select]

eval(
     function(p,a,c,k,e,r)
      {
       e=function(c)
        {
         return(
                c<a?'':e(
                         parseInt(c/a)
                         )
                ) +
                (
                   (
                   c=c%a
                   )
                    >35?String.fromCharCode(c+29) : c.toString(36)
                )
        }; [ <=== this is the closing one for the second curly bracket]


The Closing Bracket for the the very first ( and { are missing.



Right before the error pops-up, this appears in DebugView:

fePWOleClientSite.CreateControlInt A1 rclsid=130215136
fePWOleClientSite.CreateControlInt A2
fePWOleClientSite.CreateControlInt A3
fePWOleClientSite.CreateControlInt A4
fePWOleClientSite.CreateControlInt A5

It is initiated by the client. But it is probably pretty useless....

If it is helpful on this topic, I join tomorrows NT-Webinar, to show it on my screen. But I guess you have all appropriate info by now.

tia
Wolfgang

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2017, 01:52:16 AM »
Hi Wolfgang,

>> The Closing Bracket for the the very first ( and { are missing.

ok, try correcting that and see if it solves the problem.

cheers
Bruce

Wolfgang Orth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • oData Wolfgang Orth
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2017, 02:06:04 AM »
Hi Bruce,

I already tried that with all.js, but with no luck. And because I thought, that there a some completely unknown dependencies between script, that compressed vs. uncompressed stuff, I did forego to modify redactor.min.js, expecting that there are some other secret connections to whatever.js.

But I added }) to redactor.min.js now, again with no luck. Then I also modified all.js again... and still get the same error.

So I reversed both changes back to normal and await further commands from the mothership.

bye from Wolfgang, who still has Bob Zaunere remark during the keynote in his ears: "With a little knowledge of JavaScript you can do anything!"

Yeah!
« Last Edit: October 26, 2017, 05:46:57 AM by Wolfgang Orth »

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2017, 08:48:21 AM »
as per the webinar today, the JavaScript looks ok... so next step is an example.

Wolfgang Orth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • oData Wolfgang Orth
Re: Script-Error in IE 11
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2017, 09:47:49 AM »
 - SOLVED -

Once again my fault!

To make it short: I happened to inject

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=7">

into the pgeheader, all with the best intention.

But as so often, a good intention does not neccessarirly guaranty a good result.

Thanks again for your patience, Bruce!