NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Calling a page in my site  (Read 2520 times)

lanmicro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Email
Calling a page in my site
« on: February 20, 2009, 11:56:39 AM »
I want to call a page in my site when called directly from the address bar like: http://www.XXXXXX.net:91/FramePage?URLtoGoTo=yyyyyyyyy

When the framepage starts I know that I can interogate URLtoGoTo to find the name of the page.  How can I start that page and allow it to interact with the user as if started from the menuontheleft?

It would also be nice if the page could start without the page headers, frames etc of the website.  Possible?
Gregory C. Bailey

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Calling a page in my site
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2009, 05:04:42 AM »
Hi Greg,

I'm not sure that I understand the question 100%. So please correct me if I'm answering the wrong thing.

Why would you call
http://www.XXXXXX.net:91/FramePage?URLtoGoTo=yyyyyyyyy
and not just call
http://www.XXXXXX.net:91/yyyyyyyyy
?

>> It would also be nice if the page could start without the page headers, frames etc of the website.  Possible?

If you set the "target" of the URL to "top" then the page opens in the whole window, not in a frame.

cheers
Bruce

lanmicro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Calling a page in my site
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2009, 12:28:04 PM »
Don't know where my reply went.

When I call http://www.xxxxx.net:91/yyyyyyy the page appears just as I want it to.  The problem is that the submit button does not work.  No action is performed.

I also want to sometimes call the page from within my site and therefore within a frame and sometimes from the address bar (without a frame).

Gregory C. Bailey

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11186
    • View Profile
Re: Calling a page in my site
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2009, 09:43:22 PM »
Greg,

I think we need to recap a bit. I'm not 100% sure of what your question is. Clearly from your answer to my answer I'm seriously not getting what you have in mind. - ie what exactly is your Question?

So, I apologize, but can you spell it out for me?

Cheers
Bruce

bshields

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
    • View Profile
    • Inhabit
    • Email
Re: Calling a page in my site
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2009, 05:03:53 AM »
Hi Greg,

Depending upon exactly what you want i can see two methods.

1. A permanent (or 301) redirect to the page passed in URLToGoTo. Use this to completely hand off the page, either within your own website or to another site. I use this technique for a Email Marketing Campaign system. All links in my HTML email are "wrapped" by Nettalk for statistics. eg. http://campaign.inhabit.com.au/wrap.do?l=http://ebay.com.au. If you want this approach let me know and i'll post the code.

2. Just call the page in question from your code. Lets say you are in a certain page and suddendly realise you need to run another page instead (due to validation, an error or a special paramater) or most often in NetTalks case, the customer hasn't logged in and there are trying to access a page that requires login. Just call the page at the moment you need to. eg.

LoginPage(p_web)
Return

Regards
Bill Shields