NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Dynamically create entire forms  (Read 3066 times)

Flint G

• View Profile
    • Email
Dynamically create entire forms
« on: December 21, 2009, 02:15:58 PM »
Hello NTC,

Disclaimer: I'm an admitted novice when it comes to NetTalk, but I know enough to get myself into trouble.  That said:

I want to create an entire form dynamically out of a table with an undefined number of rows, where each row will create a single entry field.  I will use values in the different columns to determine the "ID" and "Name" of the entry fields.  I'll basically be creating one "field" on the tab from the same column for each row (versus the typical form style of creating one field for each column in the same row).

My question is: What is the best way to do it?  I could try to dupe the NT code using OMITs and manually add code, etc.,  :-\ , I could dynamically create the HTML page and store it in the web directory then serve that temporary page, or is there a better way?  It sure would be nice if I had some way of doing it through the NT paradigm!

Aside: Can NetTalk serve and handle PHP?

Thanks a TON!

Regards,
Flint
NetTalk: 12.26
Clarion: 9.1.11529
Brave: 1.31.88
Chrome: 95.0.4638.69
Edge: 95.0.1020.44
ExtJS: 7.0.0.156

Bruce

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Dynamically create entire forms
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 11:25:36 PM »
Hi Flint,

Let's cover the easy stuff first.

>> Aside: Can NetTalk serve and handle PHP?

NetTalk 5 - yes. "Static" pages in the web folder (or sub folders) with the php extension, are passed to php for processing. At this stage you can't just "embed" php code into a page (although that may also be possible soon.)

Now to your dynamic form question.
The answer is both yes - for a "simple" form, and "no" for a dynamic form. Or at least, if not "no", then a _very_ guarded "yes".

Let's again, start simply.