NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Web Services - Obtaining List of Functions and Parameters  (Read 18507 times)

Rob Mikkelsen

• Yahoo Instant Messenger - flashpott
    • View Profile
    • Email
Web Services - Obtaining List of Functions and Parameters
« on: July 14, 2008, 08:53:47 AM »
I am just starting to play with a SOAP client and connecting to web services.  In some documentation for the web services, I have read that all functions and parameters are made available to IIS when defined.  A coworker has stated that using .NET he can obtain a list of all those functions and parameters.

How can obtain a similar list using NetTalk and XFiles?  Is it as simple as calling the service without specifying the function that I would like to access?

Rob

Bruce

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Web Services - Obtaining List of Functions and Parameters
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 11:35:02 PM »
Hi Rob,

I'm not a SOAP expert, but I believe this is possible yes, with certain services. Diego showed something similar in Oz recently using Clarion#. From what I understand it's a "default" behavior for .Net based services, although not necessarily a standard.

The most obvious way to do something like this with NetTalk is to make a function that returns the information about your service. However if your approach was "the same" then obviously things are compatible, which is good.

Sean has offered to whip up a .Net service for me to try, so I'll post back some results here in a day or so. Obviously if it's nice an consistent then  the template could generate this list automatically, which would be quite cool.

Cheers
Bruce

Rob Mikkelsen

• Yahoo Instant Messenger - flashpott
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2008, 04:19:54 PM »
Bruce,

I look forward to your findings.  In the meanwhile I will beat on a service that has been made available to me to see if there is an intuitive way to obtain this list of functions and parameters.